Home > Press Room > Press Archives > In Detail > Italia-USA: Washington's ten most powerful women celebrated at the Italian Embassy
Increase text sizeReduce text sizeShareMailPost to FacebookPost to TwitterPost to LinkedinPost to Google+

Italia-USA: Washington's ten most powerful women celebrated at the Italian Embassy

30 March 2012

Some of the most powerful women of the Nation’s Capital graced Villa Firenze last night as Italian Ambassador Claudio Bisogniero hosted the 2012 edition of the Giorgio Armani/Elle Magazine “Washington DC Power List” at his official residence.

The event celebrated some of the biggest names of the Washington power elite, including U.S. Secretary of Labor Hilda Solis, Democratic National Committee Chairwoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz, lobbyist Heather Podesta, lobbyist Juleanna Glover, President Obama’s deputy campaign manager Julianna Smoot, strategist Jennifer Hing, White House correspondent Norah O’Donnell and entrepreneur Sheila Johnson. The Power List 2012 also included journalist Christiane Amanpour and the U.S.Permanent Representativeto the United Nations, Susan Rice.

Fashion as a pivotal element of Italian culture

“Ten extraordinary individuals, each with her own leadership and vision,” said Ambassador Bisogniero highlighting how the event, sponsored by fashion house Giorgio Armani and Elle Magazine, also celebrated the Italian cultural identity.

“Fashion – for which Armani has become a global symbol – is a vital part of Italian culture,” he said. “This is particularly significant now, as we are planning to make 2013 the ‘Year of Italian Culture in the United States’ in which art, design, innovation, and fashion will play a pivotal role."

Representing the Armani brand at Villa Firenze last night was Roberta Armani, Giorgio Armani’s niece, who introduced the 2012 powerlist side by side with Robbie Myers, Elle Magazine Editor-in-Chief and Vice President for Brand Content.

2014 Copyright Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation - legal notes - privacy - editorial committeeW3C XHTML 1.0 - W3C Css