This site uses technical, analytics and third-party cookies.
By continuing to browse, you accept the use of cookies.

Repatriation of mortal remains

(Reference Office: D.G.IT. – OFFICE IV)

Circolare n.7 del 4.4.1979 M/VII/1 – Segnalazione di decessi di connazionali ed introduzioni di salme in Italia (Circular Letter No. 7 of 4 April 1979 M/VII/1 – Reporting of deaths of compatriots and repatriation of mortal remains to Italy)

Convenzione di Berlino del 10.2.1937 (Berlin Convention of 10 February 1937)

Leggi regionali in materia di contributi per il rimborso delle spese di rimpatrio salme di connazionali emigrati deceduti all’estero (Regional laws on contributions for reimbursement of expenses for repatriation of mortal remains of emigrated compatriots who died abroad

Police Morgue Regulations (Presidential Decree No. 285 of 10 September 1990)

(Reference Office: D.G.IT. – OFFICE IV)

Diplomatic-consular Missions provide assistance in cases of repatriation of mortal remains of Italian citizens who died abroad.

Within this context, they provide for requesting authorization from the Italian Municipality for the burial of corpses or ashes, if the death occurred in one of the countries that have not ratified the 1937 Berlin Convention, and for issuing the mortuary passport.

In order to obtain the mortuary passport, the applicant shall go, by appointment, to the consular Office and provide the following documentation, legalized and translated into Italian:

– death certificate;

– certificate from the competent local health Authority stating that specific hygienic safety requirements have been met;

– certificate attesting that death occurred in an area free of infectious and endemic diseases.

The States that have ratified the Berlin Convention on the Transportation of Corpses are the following: Austria, Belgium, Egypt, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Portugal, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Romania, Slovakia, Switzerland and Turkey.