Questo sito usa cookie per fornirti un'esperienza migliore. Proseguendo la navigazione accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da parte nostra OK Approfondisci
Governo Italiano

Development Cooperation Instrument


Development Cooperation Instrument

The countries of Latin America, Central Asia, the Middle East and South Africa will benefit from the Development Cooperation Instrument (DCI), which replaces ALA. The DCI has a 7-year financial endowment of 16.897 billion euro earmarked, save exceptions, for all developing countries not benefiting from PAI, ENI or EDF funding. Its main goal is sustainable development aimed at the elimination of poverty through fulfilment of the Millennium Goals along with the promotion of democracy, good governance, human rights and the state of law.

DCI assistance is distributed at:

  • geographic level, through bilateral or regional initiatives: Asia is slated for 5.187 million euro; Central Asia 719 million euro; the Middle East 487 million euro; Latin America 2.690 billion euro; South Africa 980 million euro.
  • thematic level, 5.01 billion euro is to be distributed in five programmes covering specific sectors of interest for the benefit of EDF and ENI countries. This represents a noteworthy simplification as compared with the past, when a large number of thematic programmes were disciplined by as many ad hoc regulations. These thematic programmes should result in added value, as they remain complementary to the geographic programmes, including EDF programmes, thus giving greater visibility to the EU’s actions in the context of programmes concerned with:
    • Support for human capital development (“Investing in people”): 1.06 billion euro;
    • Environment and the sustainable management of natural resources: 804 million euro;
    • Support for non-State actors and local authorities in the context of development: 1.64 billion euro;
    • Food security: 1.71 billion euro;
    • Migration and asylum (replacing the AENEAS programme): 384 million euro.

The countries of Asia and Latin America will also be the beneficiaries of EIB loans of 1 and 2.8 billion euro respectively, while South Africa is slated to receive 900 million euro in loans from the same source.

Within the same DCI framework 1.244 billion euro is to earmarked for the ACP countries adhering to the sugar protocol: Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Trinidad and Tobago, Figi, Republic of the Congo, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe, which will benefit from targeted measures aimed at supporting their adaptation to the new sugar market conditions resulting from common market reforms..

 Valuta questo sito