Questo sito usa cookie per fornirti un'esperienza migliore. Proseguendo la navigazione accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da parte nostra OK Approfondisci
Governo Italiano




International Energy Agency (IEA)

Date Established 1974 (by OECD Council decision)
Membership 28 Member States. Italy is a founding member.
Headquarters Paris
Bodies - Executive Director (Maria van der Hoeven, Holland, since September 2011);
- Governing Board.
Goals and Activities Initially created to coordinate efforts during energy crises in the oil sector, it was gradually extended to the sectors of gas and electricity. Its mandate today is the pursuance of the “three Es”:  Energy security, Economic development and Environmental protection.
Areas of interest and action are varied, and include: energy resource diversification, renewable resources, climate change policies, market reforms, energy efficiency, development and dissemination of clean energy technologies, as well as international cooperation among the principal energy consumers and producers, meaning China, Russia and the OPEC countries.
In addition to being a discussion forum, the IEA provides constant monitoring of markets and publishes copious statistics and studies on the basis of the peer review principle, of which the World Energy Outlook (WEO) is an outstanding example. In this regard, on 26 November 2011 Italy hosted the presentation of the 2011 WEO at the foreign ministry in Rome.

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

Date Established 1957 (81 states)
Membership 151 Members. Italy is a founding member.
Sede - Vienna (institutional headquarters);
- Liaison and regional offices in Geneva, New York, Toronto and Tokyo;
- 2 international scientific laboratories located in Seibersdorf, (Austria) and in the  
  Principality of Monaco.
Bodies - Director General (Yukiya Amano, Japan, elected in July 2009);
- Board of Governors (35 members)
- General Conference (plenary)
Goals and Activities To promote the safe and peaceful use of nuclear technologies, with a 4-point mission:
a) To serve as a global focal point  for nuclear cooperation;
b) To assist Member States in planning and using nuclear science and technology for various peaceful purposes, including the generation of electrical power, and facilitating the dissemination of sustainable technologies and knowledge among Member States;
c) To develop nuclear safety standards and, on the basis of these, to promote the achievement and maintenance of high safety levels in the application of nuclear energy and protect human health and the environment from radiation;
d) To verify, by means of inspections, that States fulfil their international pledges as per the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (in effect since 1970) and other accords on non-proliferation and the use of nuclear materials and services for peaceful ends only.

Energy Charter Treaty (ECT)

Date Established Dicember 1991 (51 States).
Originally a non-binding political agreement, since 1994 added to the Energy Charter Treaty (ECT), in force since 1998, along with the Protocol on Energy Efficiency and Related Environmental Aspects (ECP).
Membership 53 member States (51 States + EU + EURATOM)
All the former Soviet countries (with the exception of Russia and Belarus, which have not ratified), the Central and Eastern European countries, EU Member States and Japan.
Other signatories that have not ratified: Australia, Iceland and Norway.
Headquarters Brussels
Bodies - Secretary General (Amb. Urban Rusnak, Republic of Slovakia, since January 2012)
- Energy Charter Conference (plenary);
- Subsidiary technical support bodies
Goals and Activities To promote and strengthen East-West dialogue on energy issues, particularly regarding investment protection, exchange of energy materials and products, rules of transit and binding procedures and dispute settlement.
The 20th Conference of the Parties was held in Rome on 9 December 2009. With the adoption of the ECP Protocol, the Parties pledge to draft and implement energy efficiency policies and legal and regulatory frameworks for efficient market mechanisms, including price setting.

International Energy Forum (IEF)

Date Established 1991
Membership 87 Member States (representing over 90% of world oil and gas supply and demand): IEA and OPEC Member States and key players such as China, India, Mexico, Russia and South Africa.
Headquarters Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Bodies - Secretary General (Mr. Aldo Flores-Quiroga, Mexico)
- Executive Board, decision-making body of 31 members + OPEC and IEA (non-  voting members);
- Ministerial Conference (Energy Ministers), meets biannually
Goals and Activities The IEF aims to foster and strengthen dialogue among producer and consumer countries on a variety of fronts that include energy security, renewable energy and the collection and exchange of data. Important in this latter sector is the Join Oil Data Initiative (JODI), an oil market data collection system managed and coordinated by the Secretariat in collaboration with OPEC, IEA and other statistics sources.
Italy hosted the 11th IEF  and 3rd IEBF (International Energy Business Forum) in Rome in 2008, events that saw the participation of the most prominent world and Italian energy concerns (Gazprom, Saudi Aramco, BP, ENI, ENEL, Edison and others).
During the 12th IEF (held in Cancùn Mexico in March 2011), the Parties pledged to strengthen the forum’s institutional architecture (boosting the roles of the Secretariat, High Level Steering Group, etc.) and began work on a new IEF Charter; the Charter was later drafted in two meetings, one in London and one in Riyadh; also in the process of discussion and assessment are mechanisms for linking into G8/G20 actions. The 13th IEF was held in Kuwait from 12 to 14 March 2012.

International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)

Date Established 26 January 2009 in Bonn (on Germany’s initiative). There are 75 founding members, which include Italy
Membership 149 Signatories (148 States  + EU)
85 Members (84 States + EU)
Headquarters - Main Headquarters (Abu Dhabi);
- IRENA Innovation and Technology Centre IITC (Bonn);
- Liaison Office for cooperation with other renewable energy organisations (Warsaw)
Bodies - Director General (Mr. Adnan Z Amin, Kenya, since April 2011);
- IRENA Council;
- Council Committees: a) Finance; b) Governance and Legal; c) Policy and Strategy, of which Italy is a member
Goals and Activities To provide adequate technical support to governments in their promotion of renewable energy and energy efficiency; coordinate and promote the revision of regulatory and incentive mechanisms also through the dissemination of best practices; foster cooperation with private and multilateral financial institutions (World Bank, EBRD, IADB, etc.) toward the development of innovative financing projects and mechanisms; encourage sector know-how and high technology exchanges.

Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)

Data di istituzione Settembre 1960 (Conferenza di Baghdad). 5 stati fondatori (Iran, Irak, Kuwait, Arabia Saudita e Venezuela)
Membership 12 stati (Algeria, Angola, Ecuador, Iran, Irak, Kuwait, Libia, Nigeria, Qatar, Arabia Saudita, EAU)
Sede Vienna (dal 1965)
Organi - Segretario Generale (HE Abdalla Salem El-Badri, Libia);
- Board of Governors;
- Conference
Obiettivi e attività Coordinare e armonizzare le politiche petrolifere dei suoi membri e assicurare la stabilità dei mercati petroliferi per promuovere un sistema di forniture economico e regolare.

 Valuta questo sito