This site uses technical, analytics and third-party cookies.
By continuing to browse, you accept the use of cookies.

Preferences cookies

Meeting in Luxembourg between Italy, Cyprus, Greece, Malta, Slovenia and Croatia

At the proposal of the Minister of Foreign Affairs Enzo Moavero Milanesi, the Foreign Ministers of Cyprus, Nicos Christodoulides, of Greece, Nikos Kotzias, of Malta, Carmelo Abela, of Slovenia, Miro Cerar and the Croatian State Secretary for European Affairs, Andreja Metelko-Zgombič, today met at the Italian Embassy in Luxembourg.

The meeting of the European Union Member States that border on the central-eastern shore of the Mediterranean opened with a tribute to Caterina Cornaro, a significant historic point of reference for the geographical area of all six Countries. The meeting offered the opportunity for a fruitful exchange of opinions on issues of common interest at the top of the EU agenda, also in view of the Summit of the Heads of State and Government scheduled for next Wednesday and Thursday. The discussion was constructive and recorded a considerable level of convergence.

The ministers agreed on the need to convene periodically for informal but efficient meetings on the most pressing issues, especially those related to migration flows and security. The next meeting will be held in Brussels on the sidelines of the EU Foreign Affairs Council in November.