This site uses technical, analytics and third-party cookies.
By continuing to browse, you accept the use of cookies.

Preferences cookies

Secretariat General

Secretary General
Riccardo Guariglia

Deputy Secretary General
Carlo Lo Cascio


Chief of Staff
Paolo Michele Di Giandomenico



As stated in art. 6, par. 2, of legislative decree no. 300/1999, the Secretary General assists the Minister directly in drafting Ministry policies and programmes, oversees the Ministry to ensure the continuity of its functions, and coordinates the activities of its various offices.

The Secretary General is assisted by a Deputy Secretary General.

In the Minister for Foreign Affairs’ absence the Secretary General chairs the Board of Directors, which assesses the Ministry’s strategic policies and overall action.

In completing their assigned tasks the Secretary General and Deputy Secretary General avail themselves of:

  • The Coordination Unit
    Head of the Unit: Silvia Limoncini
    Telephone: 06 3691 2050

As well as of the following Units:

  • The Crisis Unit, monitors international crises and hot spots with special regard for the interests and security of Italian nationals abroad in emergency situations, availing itself when necessary also of the collaboration of other State ministries;

Unit Head: Nicola Minasi

Telephone: 06 0636225

The following offices work within the Secretariat General:

  • Central Security Office-Special Secretariat: manages the flow of classified and qualified documents; issues directives regarding document security; grants security authorisations;
    Telephone: 06 3691 2050
  • Statistics Office, set up in accordance with legislative decree no. 322/1999.
    Telephone: 06 3691 8996 – 06 3691 8968